14 Herietta Street - Bespoke Notebook

Time to take a look at a hand bound bespoke notebook produced in the bindery last year.

14 Henrietta Street, situated on the northside of Dublin, is a unique museum opportunity to experience over 300 years of city life in the walls of one address.

History of the House
Henrietta Street is the most intact collection of early to mid-18th century houses in Ireland. Work began on the street in the 1720's when houses were built as homes for Dublin's most wealthy families. The houses were built over five floors, with a railed in basement, brick vaulted cellars under the front to the street, a garden and mews to the rear and there was originally a coach house and stable yard.

The first occupant was Lord Viscount Molesworth along with his wife and family. The house would have also housed his staff and servants.

At the time Dublin's Georgian elites developed a taste for expensive decorations, fine fabrics and furniture made from exotic materials. The houses were decorated to the highest standards.


After the Act of Union in 1801, all power shifted from Dublin to London. Gradually the elite left for London and Dublin entered a period of economic decline.The professionals then moved into 14 Henrietta Street and the fine furniture and decoration gave way to office desks and paperwork.

​Throughout the century and on the back of the famine , Dublin's population began to swell. Landlords seized on the demand for cheap accommodation and began to carve these Georgian houses into multiple dwellings. In 1876 Thomas Vance purchased 14 Henrietta Street and installed 19 tenement flats of one, two and three rooms.

By 1911 number 14 was filled with over 100 people while over 850 people lived on the street. The 1911 census shows it was also a house packed with craftspeople. Its occupants included milliners, a dress maker, French polishers and even Bookbinders! Some may even have been working from the house. The last tenement resident left in the late 1970's, by which time the building was virtually abandoned by its owners. The building was in a state of near collapse.

​Dublin City Council began the process to acquire the house in 2000 and a conservation plan was drawn up to rescue, stabilise and conserve the house and the history it held, preserving it for generations to come. In 2014, after extensive work, 14 Henrietta Street opened its doors to the public.



The Notebook
During the conservation of number 14, different wallpaper fragments were revealed on the walls, covering over 300 years of history. As part of the conservation project, Dublin City Council commissioned David Skinner Wallpaper specialists to recreate the historic papers found in the house. These beautifully recreated papers can be found hanging on the walls of the house today. It is also this recreated wallpaper that has been used as the covering material for the Henrietta Street notebooks, creating a visually stunning and unique notebook. These notebooks can be purchased from the museum at 14 Henrietta Street.

For more information on the history of the house or for details on how you can visit go to www.14henriettastreet.ie

​​If you are interested in producing your own bespoke notebook please don't hesitate to phone us on 01 8557579 or email at duffybookbinders@gmail.com.